Clicky

  • Monday , 24 July 2017

Lenten Resources for Youth from The Upper Room

Lenten reflections, prayer practices, activities, facts, and more . . . geared for YOUth.

LENT

“Lent 101” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/lent-101/) explains the season of Lent, the observance of Ash Wednesday, and 10 practices young people can try during Lent.  

“Stuff to Do during Lent” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/spiritual-practices/stuff-to-do-during-lent/) is a list of daily practices for the 40 days of Lent to help young people and their families prepare their hearts and lives for Easter.

“A Holy Experiment” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/spiritual-practices/holy-experiment-day/) On March 4th each year a challenge is issued for you to begin an experiment that can bring you or someone else closer to God or that can make a difference in someone’s life or in the world. Are you in?

“Why Give It Up?” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/spiritual-practices/why-give-it-up/) encourages youth to think about why they give up something during Lent — as a way of remembering that Jesus gave his life for them.

“Unplugging” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/unplugging-2/) invites young people to try the lenten practice of  “unplugging” from technology, from the world, from anything that keeps them from tuning in to God.

“The Sting” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/sting/) takes a look at something many of us hate to talk about — sin — and offers young people a way to reflect on the sin in their lives, to seek God’s forgiveness and guidance in eliminating sin, and to become more committed to being like Christ.

“Benedict of Nursia: Listening with the Heart” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/spiritual-practices/benedict-nursia-listening-heart/) will introduce youth and adults to lectio divina, the practice of reading and listening to scripture to hear what God wants to tell them. For a deeper exploration of the history and practice of lectio divina, check out “Lectio Divina: Listening to God” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/lectio-divina-listening-to-god/).

“Nimbus” https://www.nimbusprayer.com/  Join the Nimbus prayer community and never pray alone again. Nimbus is a free IOS app encouraging you to pray on the go with friends and community. Download today.

 

PALM SUNDAY

“The Radical Way of Jesus” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/the-radical-way-of-jesus/) explores the two processions into Jerusalem on that first Palm Sunday as a way of helping young people choose between two radically different ways to live their lives.

GOOD FRIDAY

“Who Do You Say that I Am?” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/spiritual-practices/who-do-you-say-that-i-am/) offers youth a way to journal and reflect on the events of Good Friday.

EASTER

“Questions God Asks Us” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/questions-god-asks/) will enable youth to step into the resurrection story by considering the question God asks Mary: “Why are you crying?”

“No Trade Possible” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/no-trade-possible/) — Jacob Armstrong catches a glimpse of God’s extravagant love through the gift of a rare baseball card.

“Connecting the Dots” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/spiritual-practices/connecting-dots/) invites young people explore scripture during the 50 days of the Easter season in order to discover how Old Testament stories, symbols, and festivals help us make sense of the Easter story.  

PENTECOST

“The Frightening Thrill of Pentecost” (http://devozine.upperroom.org/articles/the-frightening-thrill-of-pentecost/) challenges young people to reflect during the season of Pentecost on what God is calling them to be or to do or to believe in that is beyond their wildest dreams.

***

Want some activity suggestions for kids? Visit Lent with Kids: http://voices.upperroom.org/the-upper-room/publications-of-the-upper-room/lent-for-kids/

2 Comments

  1. Lent and Easter Resources | First Friday Letter
    February 5, 2016 at 9:33 am Reply

    […] The Upper Room Devotional Youth Resources: http://voices.upperroom.org/the-upper-room/lentyouth/ […]

  2. lent for modern catholic kids | daily reflections and prayers - teach mama
    February 17, 2016 at 1:13 pm Reply

    […] Lenten Resources from The Upper Room […]

Leave A Comment